The Dead Days Journal : Volume 1

The Dead Days Journal : Volume 1The Dead Days Journal : Volume 1 by Sandra R. Campbell

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow, I wasn’t expecting this story just from the summary alone! I was hooked from the very first page. What is to love about a post apocalyptic tale, a vicious, blood hungry horde, and a family thrust into turmoil, while trying to survive in a bunker built into the side the mountain? The answer is, all of it! I was thrown into the fray as a survivor. I was right besides Leo as she fought to save lives, and faced tragedy beyond belief. I watched as the the leader slipped into madness and tried to turn everyone against his daughter. I came to love an evil yet good Halloween, who at first was grotesque and now turned into something of an angle. I wish I can honestly say more, but if I do I’ll spoil the whole book! All I got to say is I can’t wait for the next book!

View all my reviews

Book Summary:

The daughter of a radical doomsday prepper, Leo Marrok spent her entire life preparing for the end. A skilled fighter and perfect marksman, Leo is her father’s second-in-command when Armageddon comes to pass. Together, they lead a group of survivors to a secure bunker deep in the Appalachian Mountains.

Vincent Marrok is willing to take extreme measures to repopulate their broken world. Leo’s refusal marks her as a traitor. With father and daughter at odds for the first time, their frail community is thrust into turmoil. Until the unthinkable happens, a blood-thirsty horde arrives. The impending attack will destroy all that they have worked for.

To protect her home and everything she believes in, Leo puts her faith in the arms of the enemy—a creature only rumored to exist—the one she calls Halloween. An alliance born out of necessity evolves into feelings Leo is ill-equipped to handle.

The Dead Days Journal is a post-apocalyptic story of love and family told through Leo Marrok’s first-hand account and the pages of Vincent’s personal journal, giving two very different perspectives on what it takes to survive.

Mature themes, adult language, sexual situations, violence and gore. 18+

Leave a Reply

