Hominids

Hominids (Neanderthal Parallax, #1)Hominids by Robert J. Sawyer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m not much into the Science Fiction, and when I first came upon this on my MP3 play list I thought naw, I’d just put on the back burner. From the book cover alone I though it was another Planet of the Apes type book, but when I read the summary I thought I’d give it a try. I’m very glad I did. I found myself wanting to listen to it all the time. I wanted to see what happened to Ponter and his friends. The book summary alone doesn’t give it enough credit. Now I’m off to listen to the second book in the series!

View all my reviews

Book Summary:
Neanderthals have developed a radically different civilization on a parallel Earth. A Neanderthal physicist, Ponter Boddit, accidentally passes from his universe into a Canadian underground research facility. Fortunately, a team of human scientists, including expert paleo-anthropologist Mary Vaughan, promptly identifies and warmly receives Ponter. Solving the language problem and much else is a mini-computer, called a Companion, implanted in the brain of every Neanderthal. A computerized guardian spirit, however, doesn’t eliminate cross-cultural confusion; permanent male-female sexuality, rape, and overpopulation are all alien to Ponter. Nor can it help his housemate and fellow scientist back in his world, Adikor Huld, when the authorities charge Adikor with his murder.

Leave a Reply

