The Affair (Jack Reacher #16)

The Affair (Jack Reacher, #16)The Affair by Lee Child

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is my first Lee Child book and very glad it is. This is a background book to all the other books, or so I’ve heard. This book takes place in the past, in 1997 when Reacher was still in the Army. He is assigned to a town due to a murder and finds there were more than just one murder. This book kept my interest all throughout and I found myself not wanting to put it down. I was instantly drawn into the story line and felt part of the investigation, as a ghost traveling along with Reacher. Who did the killing? How? Why? In the end I made a guess and found I was wrong. Next time I just might have to think of all the angles. Overall, a great book.

View all my reviews

Book Summary:

March 1997. A woman has her throat cut behind a bar in Carter Crossing, Mississippi. Just down the road is a big army base. Is the murderer a local guy – or is he a soldier?

Jack Reacher, still a major in the military police, is sent in undercover. The county sheriff is a former US Marine – and a stunningly beautiful woman. Her investigation is going nowhere. Is the Pentagon stonewalling her? Or doesn’t she really want to find the killer?

The adrenaline-pumping, high-voltage action in The Affair is set just six months before the opening of Killing Floor, and it marks a turning point in Reacher’s career. If he does what the army wants, will he be able to live with himself? And if he doesn’t, will the army be able to live with him?

Leave a Reply

