Lightning Rider

Lightning RiderLightning Rider by Jen Greyson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

After reading the summary of the book, I knew I had to read it, so I got this book from NetGalley. I wanted to slip into the world of a lightning rider and see what it was all about. I was not disappointed, nor impressed. It wasn’t what I thought the book would be. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s a good book, and some people will disagree with me and say it’s a great book. However, for me it was just okay. I had a hard time following the flow and story line. The main character is a strong female, that gets thrust into a power where she can travel through time via lightning and help change the future. I did love the romance between her and Constantine, but other than that the book was just okay. Read it for yourself, you never know if you like it or not.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:
For Evy Rivera, thunderstorms have always caused her physical pain, but she’s never known why. When a record-setting storm arrives on the same night her father finds ancient ancestral documents, Evy is set aglow with mysterious tiny lightnings she can command.

Even worse, she alerts some people in the universe who’ve been looking for her family for a very long time.

Thrown back into ancient Spain and tasked with killing a Spanish legend, she must train alongside Constantine, a sexy yet obstinate Roman warrior. He teaches her how to wield her lightning as a weapon, through more errors than trials. With a relationship as explosive as their late-night training sessions, Evy and Constantine battle their push-pull relationship while trying to ignore the two-thousand-year difference in their birthdates.

Ilif Rotiart, her quasi-mentor, is appalled at Evy’s skill. He would prefer to train her father and keep Evy on the sidelines—where women belong. Evy has a feeling Ilif is keeping something from them, but she must play nice until she uncovers the truth. And if he’s lying, it will be the worst day of his four-hundred-year life.

Penya Sepadas claims she’s Evy’s rightful trainer, and she has the prophecy to prove it. Penya doesn’t share Ilif’s misogynistic attitude, but she does have her own agenda…and her own secrets.

Evy must sort through the lies and find the truth behind her family’s time-traveling past before the wrong history obliterates the future. She’s spent her whole life fighting for her place. Now, as the first female lightning rider, she’ll dedicate her existence to fighting to save the world.

But will Evy learn to manage her lightning and find the truth before it’s too late?

Advertisements

Deep Blue Secret (The WaterKeepers, #1)

Deep Blue Secret (The Water Keepers, #1)Deep Blue Secret by Christie Anderson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wasn’t going to read this book yet, but at the recommendation from my sister I thought I’d pick it up and see what it was about. I loved the book. It had action, adventure, mystery, and of course romance. The book is centered around a teenage girl who’s life gets twisted upside down when she learns who she really is. She has to fight for her family and friends, and with the help of a mysterious guy fight for herself to stay alive. This book is a great read, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the other books.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

California teen Sadie James thinks her life couldn’t get any better. She has great friends, an energetic mother she adores, and the beach practically in her own backyard. But her carefree life is turned upside down when she’s rescued by a mysterious and strangely familiar boy who won’t even tell her his name. Each time the boy appears, Sadie’s unexplainable attraction to him deepens along with her need to unravel his secrets. The boy is there to protect her, but as wonderful and exciting as it might be to have an irresistible boy with crystal green eyes protecting her every move, every minute of the day…why does Sadie need one? As Sadie finds answers, she realizes her life isn’t as perfect as she thought. Not only is she caught in a world of dangerous secret agents she never knew existed, but it turns out her true identity may be the greatest secret of all.

You Suck (A Love Story, #2)

You Suck (A Love Story, #2)You Suck by Christopher Moore

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow, this was my first time reading Christopher Moore and all I can say is wow! I love his writing style. The book was funny to say the list. This story follows a vampire girl, her boyfriend (first minion), his friends, the vampire that turned her, and a young teen girl that wants to be in the vampire crowed. Once I started to read it I couldn’t put it down. One down side is that there are a lot of swear words in it, but that just makes the comedic part of the book, since it’s so outrageous. I can’t wait to read more of his stories!

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

Literally. Just ask Thomas C. Flood. Waking up after a fantastic night unlike anything he’s ever experienced, he discovers that his girlfriend, Jody—the woman of his dreams—is a vampire. And surprise! Now he’s one, too.

For some couples, the whole biting-and-blood thing would have been a deal breaker. But Tommy and Jody are in love, and they vow to work through their issues. Like how much Jody should teach Tommy about his new superpowers (and how much he needs to learn on his own). Plus there’s Tommy’s cute new minion, sixteen-year-old goth girl Abby Normal. (Well, someone has to run errands during daylight hours!)

Making the relationship work, however, is the least of Jody and Tommy’s problems. Word has it that the vampire who nibbled on Jody wasn’t supposed to be recruiting any new members into the club. Even worse, Tommy’s erstwhile turkey-bowling pals are out to get him, at the urging of a blue-dyed Las Vegas call girl named (duh) Blue.

Sworn to Raise (Courtlight #1)

Sworn to Raise (Courtlight #1)Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I got this book from NetGalley as a ARC book to review. I loved the cover so much, that I didn’t even read a summary about it before I started it. Man oh man was I surprised. I didn’t know what I was getting into and now I’m glad I did. This book is about Ciardis who grew up as an orphan. She always knew she was gypsy but didn’t remember who here parents, or where she came from. After working as a laundress for many years, she meets a Companion who offers her a place at the Companions Guild to train as a Court Companion. Ciardis agrees to go. At the training school, she realizes who her family is. As a last survivor of her family Ciardis is a big hit for the Lords, Vice counts, and royalty looking for companions. However, fate has something else in store for her. A few trips to the Ather-world, some mishaps, and few cruel school mates Ciardis grows into a beautiful woman. This book surprised me at the way the Court Companions where highly regarded. I will definitely be reading the next book.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:
Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the kingdom. But beneath her kingdom’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

Weaving Destiny (The Soulkeepers #2)

Weaving Destiny (The Soulkeepers, #2)Weaving Destiny by G.P. Ching

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Another great book by G.P Ching. I was hesitant at first picking up this book. I loved the first book and was hoping this book would be better. To my surprise it was! I couldn’t put it down once I able to sit down and fully read it. I loved how Malini character grew into her own and how strong she became at the end. Death was another character added and I loved him. Altogether this book was better than the first and I can’t wait to read the 3rd and 4th book.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

Malini Gupta thought Jacob Lau was her destiny. But after months of failing to decipher how she fits into the Soulkeepers, frustration threatens to tear their relationship apart. And it doesn’t help that a new Soulkeeper named Mara is ready to stop time itself to earn Jacob’s love.

When Malini faces her worst fears, and even death, she learns a funny thing about destiny. Fate is a tapestry of choices, and she has the power to weave hers