Unrivaled

UnrivaledUnrivaled by Siri Mitchell

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I got this book as an ARC and I loved the book!! What drew me to it was the fact that the main character was a candy maker, and was trying to make the family company survive back in 1910, when woman where just house wives. As a fellow candy maker myself I related to her quiet easily. Lucy is a strong woman, with a strong will. She wants so very badly to save her family business from her rivals, that she will stop at almost nothing to get it. Then there is Charlie who I fell in love with. Coming from the streets of Chicago to St. Louise, made him a bit awkward and standoffish. Not knowing how to act in polite, upper class society Charlie is almost lost. However, after meeting Lucy, and finding out what his father is up to, Charlie becomes in my eyes, one of the hero’s of the book. This book is well written, and flows easily. Once I picked it up I couldn’t put it down. Reading how things were done back then made me feel like I was with Lucy on her adventure.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

Three-Time Christy Finalist Pens Another Winning Historical Romance
Lucy Kendall always assumed she’d help her father in his candy-making business, creating recipes and aiding him in their shared passion. But after a year traveling in Europe, Lucy returns to 1910 St. Louis to find her father unwell and her mother planning to sell the struggling candy company. Determined to help, Lucy vows to create a candy that will reverse their fortunes.
St. Louis newcomer Charlie Clarke is determined to help his father dominate the nation’s candy industry. Compromise is not an option when the prize is a father’s approval, and falling in love with a business rival is a recipe for disaster when only one company can win. Will these two star-crossed lovers let a competition that turns less than friendly sour their dreams?

Leave a Reply

