Divergent

Divergent (Divergent, #1)Divergent by Veronica Roth

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Oh my, what a wonderful adventure I was on. I’m kinda sad I finished the book. I tried my best to savor the words, the characters, the world I was in but to no avail 😦 I finished it because it was such a great, fast paced read. I have been wondering how this book would go, since it is being made into a movie. Would it be awesome like Hunger Games? or something completely different? and I either really dislike it (hardly) or really love it (usually). Well my verdict is in and I loved it!!! For me it’s different and wonderful. How would I react if I had to make a choice to either stay within my fraction, with family and friends, or choose another fraction and leave everything I know behind. I honestly wouldn’t be able to make that choice. At least not when I’m young, haven’t tried the other fractions out, and don’t have any friends with other members of the different fractions. I’m waiting to head into town to get the second book. I’m chomping at the bits to find out where Tris, Four, Caleb, and the rest end up.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Advertisements

Widow of Gettysburg (Heroines Behind the Lines: Civil War #2)

Widow of Gettysburg (Heroines Behind the Lines: Civil War #2)Widow of Gettysburg by Jocelyn Green

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow!! I got this book as an ARC from NetGalley, and I absolutely love, love, love this book!!! From the very beginning I was captivated, not only by the story line, but by the flow of the story. I didn’t want to put it down, but had to due to real life. If I had my choice I would have just curled up and read it all the way through. The story follows a young widow names Liberty, in the town Gettysburg,Pa right before, during, and after the battle. The day to day struggles of not overcoming a traumatic loss, but also overcoming hurdles that were thrown her way. All I can say is that if you haven’t read this book its a must read if your into historical novels. Furthermore, the story is taken from factual events which I love! I didn’t know this was the second book to the series since it stands on its own. Off to read the first book to the series!

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

For all who have suffered great loss of heart, home, health or family; true home and genuine lasting love can be found.

When a horrific battle rips through Gettysburg, the farm of Union widow Liberty Holloway is disfigured into a Confederate field hospital, bringing her face to face with unspeakable suffering-and a Confederate scout who awakens her long dormant heart.

While Liberty’s future crumbles as her home is destroyed, the past comes rushing back to Bella, a former slave and Liberty’s hired help, when she finds herself surrounded by Southern soldiers, one of whom knows the secret that would place Liberty in danger if revealed.

In the wake of shattered homes and bodies, Liberty and Bella struggle to pick up the pieces the battle has left behind. Will Liberty be defined by the tragedy in her life, or will she find a way to triumph over i

The Deepest Night (The Sweetest Dark #2)

The Deepest Night (The Sweetest Dark, #2)The Deepest Night by Shana Abe

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*ARC Review*
This book picks up right after the first one. Jesse is dead and now has become a star. He saved Lora and all the rest from the u-boat, by turning the men into gold. Armand is still in love with Lora. With summer approaching where would Lora go? She can’t stay at the school and she doesn’t know if she will be back again. The question is answered when Armand’s brother is take and held as a prisoner of war. She and Armand now must save him. With a few twist and turns, this a good squeal to the first book.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love