Orphans of the Sky

Orphans of the SkyOrphans of the Sky by Robert A. Heinlein
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow, I never thought my first audio book, yes I said Audio Book would be such an adventure. Thank you my dear friend Caro!! I loved this book!! I can honestly say, I got lost at some points as it was hard for me to “listen” to the book,rather than read it. So retaining what I just heard was hard at first, but then the story grew and I learned how to imagine what was being said. By the end of the book I actually got the whole story, and I can remember some parts of the book. It’s full of action and adventure, and twists that I didn’t even see coming!! This is a must read or “listen” if you are into sifi and space travel.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

Fix-up consisting of the novelette “Universe” (1941) and the novella “Common Sense” (1941). First published in 1963.

Hugh had been taught that, according to the ancient sacred writings, the Ship was on a voyage to faraway Centaurus. But he also understood this was actually allegory for a voyage to spiritual perfection. Indeed, how could the Ship move, since its miles and miles of metal corridors were all there was of creation? Science knew that the Ship was all the Universe, and as long as the sacred Convertor was fed, the lights would continue to glow and the air would flow, and the Creator’s Plan would be fulfilled.

Of course, there were the muties, grotesquely deformed parodies of humans, who lurked in the upper reaches of the Ship where gravity was weaker. Were they evil incarnate, or merely a divine check on the population, keeping humanity from expanding past the capacity of the Ship to support?

Then Hugh was captured by the muties and met their leader (or leasders), Joe-Jim, with two heads on one body. And he learned the true nature of the Ship and its mission between the stars. But could he make his people believe him before it was to late? Could he make them believe that he must be allowed to fly the ship?

Leave a Reply

