The Sweetest Dark

The Sweetest Dark (The Sweetest Dark, #1)The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*ARC Review*
Oh my, oh my, this book should have been at the top of my ARC pile!!! I didn’t know what to expect from this book. I was honestly thinking, this will be like most of the Young Adult supernatural/fantasy out there. There would be a vampire or two, a werewolf, some fey folks, and other supernatural creatures, but oh man I was wrong!!! Well not really wrong, I just didn’t think it would be this sort of mythical creature. The story follows an unfortunate girl that gets a chance of life time. Her chance came when the German bombed her home, and she ended up being shipped to a school just for girls. Even though she did not fit in at this new school, she did make a few friends, that helped her become her true self. Once I started this book I could not put it down! Why not pick up a copy for yourself to see if you love this book as much as do!!

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.

“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.”

Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

Advertisements

Hidden in Plain View

Hidden in Plain ViewHidden in Plain View by Diane Burke

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*ARC Review*
Wow, what can I say about this book besides that I absolutely loved it!! It is one of those books that I just could not put down and finished it within two sittings. This book is what I call an Amish murder mystery, that is fast paced, with lots of twists, and turns. This is my first Diane Burke book and I can assure you it won’t be my last.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

Colliding WorldsAfter a tragedy rips through her Amish community, Sarah Lapp doesn’t remember anything. She can’t recall her Plain upbringing, her deceased husband or the shooting that landed her under the protection of handsome undercover cop Samuel King. She is, however, aware of the confusing feelings he creates in her from the moment he walks into her life. Sam is determined to protect Sarah and her unborn baby in case the shooters return. Because if they do, it’ll be more than just Sarah’s memory at stake

The Guardian (Home to Hickory Hollow #3)

The Guardian (Home to Hickory Hollow #3)The Guardian by Beverly Lewis

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

**ARC Review**
I loved this book. It has all what I was hoping for in an Amish Fiction, faith, hope, love, loss, tragedy, and an happy ending!!! Not including I felt like I was in the book itself. I was ridding silently along side the family in the buggy, I was quietly running along side Jodi, and I was secretly hoping for a relationship to bloom! I love books that just draw you in and lets you become part of the story itself, or at least you fell like you are part of the story.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

Must-Have Amish Fiction from #1 Bestselling Author Beverly Lewis
When schoolteacher Jodi Winfield goes for a morning run, the last thing she expects is to find a disheveled little girl all alone on the side of the Pennsylvania road, clad only in her undergarments, her chubby cheeks streaked with tears. Jodi takes the preschooler home with her, intending to find out where she belongs. But Jodi is mystified when no one seems to know of a missing child, and the girl herself is no help, since she can’t speak a word of English. It’s as if the child appeared out of nowhere.
As the days pass, Jodi becomes increasingly attached to the mysterious girl, yet she is no closer to learning her identity. Then an unexpected opportunity brings Jodi to Hickory Hollow–and into the cloistered world of the Lancaster Old Order Amish. Might the answers lie there?

Orphans of the Sky

Orphans of the SkyOrphans of the Sky by Robert A. Heinlein
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow, I never thought my first audio book, yes I said Audio Book would be such an adventure. Thank you my dear friend Caro!! I loved this book!! I can honestly say, I got lost at some points as it was hard for me to “listen” to the book,rather than read it. So retaining what I just heard was hard at first, but then the story grew and I learned how to imagine what was being said. By the end of the book I actually got the whole story, and I can remember some parts of the book. It’s full of action and adventure, and twists that I didn’t even see coming!! This is a must read or “listen” if you are into sifi and space travel.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

Fix-up consisting of the novelette “Universe” (1941) and the novella “Common Sense” (1941). First published in 1963.

Hugh had been taught that, according to the ancient sacred writings, the Ship was on a voyage to faraway Centaurus. But he also understood this was actually allegory for a voyage to spiritual perfection. Indeed, how could the Ship move, since its miles and miles of metal corridors were all there was of creation? Science knew that the Ship was all the Universe, and as long as the sacred Convertor was fed, the lights would continue to glow and the air would flow, and the Creator’s Plan would be fulfilled.

Of course, there were the muties, grotesquely deformed parodies of humans, who lurked in the upper reaches of the Ship where gravity was weaker. Were they evil incarnate, or merely a divine check on the population, keeping humanity from expanding past the capacity of the Ship to support?

Then Hugh was captured by the muties and met their leader (or leasders), Joe-Jim, with two heads on one body. And he learned the true nature of the Ship and its mission between the stars. But could he make his people believe him before it was to late? Could he make them believe that he must be allowed to fly the ship?

Blood Between Queens

Blood Between Queens (Thornleigh, #5)Blood Between Queens by Barbara Kyle

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

*ARC Review*
This books is well written and the story line is good. However, I didn’t know this was the 5th book to a series. Some parts of the book left me saying “huh, I don’t understand” since I haven’t read the previous books. I’m sure if I did I would give this book 4 stars! The twists and turns left me wanting more and I’ll defiantly be reading the other books!

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

Following her perilous fall from a throne she’d scarcely owned to begin with, Mary, Queen of Scots, has fled to England, hoping her cousin, Queen Elizabeth, will grant her asylum. But now Mary has her sights on the English crown, and Elizabeth enlists her most trusted subjects to protect it.

Justine Thornleigh is delighting in the thrill of Queen Elizabeth’s visit to her family’s estate when the festivities are cut short by Mary’s arrival. To Justine’s surprise, the Thornleighs appoint her to serve as a spy in Mary’s court. But bearing the guise of a lady-in-waiting is not Justine’s only secret. The weight of her task is doubled by fears of revealing to her fiancé that she is in truth the daughter of his family’s greatest rival. Duty-bound, Justine must sacrifice love as she navigates a deadly labyrinth of betrayal that could lead to the end of Elizabeth’s fledgling reign…

Compelling and inventive, Blood Between Queens artfully blends history’s most intriguing figures with unforgettable characters, bringing to dazzling life the fascinating Tudor era