Past Darkness

Past DarknessPast Darkness by Laurel Woiwode
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

*ARC Review*
I have to say I love, love the cover! This is what first drew me to this book. There is just something about the cover that screams “Read Me!” Then I read the book synopsis and I just had to read to it. I identified with the main character and thought it was going to be an awesome read! Well I have to be honest and admit it wasn’t an awesome read, but a good read at least! The book tells a story of a teenage girl that went through a tragedy and tries to find her way in life. I did identify with her shutting people out, and closing herself off so she wouldn’t get hurt again. I love Ian and how he brings a bit of softness to the main character. Also, the descriptions of the scenery is just wonderful! I can’t wait to travel to the North Dakota! But something about the way some of the sentences ran together, or didn’t flow just right turned me off. I didn’t mind the “offensive language” since I thought it went with the character. Over all this is a good fast read.

View all my reviews

From Goodreads.com:

Gabrielle Larson is an average, 15-year-old girl living in Chicago when tragedy strikes. In the aftermath, she is forced to relocate to rural North Dakota and spend the next chapter of her life learning to cope with trials involving everything from family to faith. Laurel Woiwode, daughter of critically acclaimed novelist Larry Woiwode, offers here a moving story that will be appreciated by female and male readers alike. Past Darkness is not preachy or heavy-handed, but rather a touching story about the importance of family, the power of music, and the ever-present mercy of God

Leave a Reply

